Fantasy Casting (Guest Post by Author P.I. Barrington)

I completely agree. I 99% of the time will write up a character bio, with picture, while I’m plotting and planning to help me visualize everything.

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

How do you see your characters? Do you just make up what someone looks like generally or are they specifically described? Or, as me and a quite a few other authors, will tell you, fantasy casting (using real people or particular looking people) is quite helpful in determining who your character is and what they look like. Fantasy casting (not my term but a great one) can help in more than one way, especially if you use it often or use it in various ways. Here is how I cast my characters & subsequent personalities:

  1. Search the web before you start character description. Why? Because looking at the picture many times will give you an idea of what their personalities will, could or should be and how and who you imagine as that character. It can assist you in developing storyline or plot or even subplots.

  2. Help your publisher help…

View original post 779 more words

Categories: Writing | Leave a comment

About J.A. Stinger

I'm a wife, mother, and author. My husband is my co-author and we moved to the Greater Atlanta Metro area in the summer of 2014. While I have always written some, I didn't turn it into anything serious until after my diagnosis with MS in early 2015. Since then, I have focused a lot on what I wanted to get done, verses things I had just been putting off until "later".

Leave a Reply

