Short and Sweet Advice for Writers: Read!! (Here’s Why)

Live to Write - Write to Live

pin confuscius readIt’s not like anyone ever has to twist my arm to get me to read. In fact, left to my own devices, I’d probably spend at least a few hours each day with my nose in a book. However, Real Life doesn’t always easily accommodate large blocks of reading time. There is almost always something more pressing that needs doing – something that seems more important – and so reading can fall off the radar.

But, reading is critical for writers. Mandatory. Non-negotiable.

You’ve heard the advice a million times: If you want to write, read. It makes sense, you suppose; but have you ever wondered why it makes sense – why reading is such an important part of becoming a writer?

When you read, it’s like taking an immersion class in the language of story and literature. And like any immersion class, the more you expose yourself to that…

View original post 346 more words

Categories: Writing | 1 Comment

About J.A. Stinger

I'm a wife, mother, and author. My husband is my co-author and we moved to the Greater Atlanta Metro area in the summer of 2014. While I have always written some, I didn't turn it into anything serious until after my diagnosis with MS in early 2015. Since then, I have focused a lot on what I wanted to get done, verses things I had just been putting off until "later".

One thought on “Short and Sweet Advice for Writers: Read!! (Here’s Why)

Leave a Reply

